About us

What is the CCG?

Clinical Commissioning Groups are NHS organisations set up by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 following the 2010 White Paper, ‘Equity and Excellence: Liberating the NHS’ which stated the Government’s desire to create a health and care system that has the patient’s needs at the heart of it.

All CCGs had to go through an authorisation process, of which there were four waves between July and December 2012. Trafford was in the fourth wave and NHS Trafford Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) was formed on the 1 April 2013 and, to some extent, replaced Trafford Primary Care Trust (PCT) in organising the delivery of NHS services in the borough.

CCG’s are clinically (clinician) led meaning that GP’s, who see patients daily, now have a say in how health services are led; all of the 8,000 GP practices in England is now part of a CCG.

The CCG is overseen by NHS England and our Governing Body is accountable to our GP Council of Members, of which Trafford’s 30 GP practices are all signed up to.

If you’re confused about the NHS structure and who does what, the King’s Fund explain it well in this alternative guide to the new NHS in England: http://vimeo.com/69224754.


Our constitution sets out the membership and composition of our Governing Body and its key sub-committees where decisions are made.

Our Governing Body 

Governing Body
Imran  Dr Muhammad Imran CCG Chair 
Chris Tower  Dr Chris Tower GP Neighbourhood Lead - West
Chandy  Dr Joseph Chandy GP Neighbourhood Lead - North
Shah Dr Dev Shah GP Neighbourhood Lead - South
Kate Clark Dr Kathryn Clark Secondary Care Clinician
Richard Dyson1 Richard Dyson Lay Member for Governance, Audit & Finance
Devlin George Devlin Lay Member for Patient & Public Involvement
Sara R Sara Radcliffe  Joint-Accountable Officer
Gareth James 1 Gareth James  Joint-Accountable Officer
Jacqui Coulton Jacquie Coulton Acting Chief Nurse
  Julie Flanagan Chief Finance Officer
Catherine Hinton Catherine Hinton Nurse Member
Mark J Dr Mark Jarvis Medical Director
 Manish Prasad Dr Manish Prasad Deputy Medical Director